Depression

Depression: feelings of severe despondency and dejection. 

Depression is an extremely sensitive subject. Most people brush it off, most people deny that they even have it, and others…. take the situation into their own hands. Depression is not a game. It is not something you can just push to the back of your mind and act as if it is not there. It’s real and it’s dark.

 

For me, depression is a dark cloud that just covers my judgment and I try to swat it away with always going out. It does not help what so ever. Being alone, with depression can lead you into deep memories or deep thoughts that send you into a breakdown. Luckily for me, I have severe anxiety, I get emotional breakdowns and when I’m depressed… it ends up feeling as if the entire world is against me and I won’t be able to break out of it. You can fight, fight, fight, but what good is the fighting if it leads you nowhere? The same thing happens when you try to avoid it all together and you just end up running yourself into a corner, staring it straight into the face and eventually giving in to the dark cloud. I’ve seen people actually be judged for being depressed and I have also been one of them that have been judged and it’s another kick me while I’m already down feeling. For me, I am lucky to have family and friends by my side doing no matter what it is to keep me going. Even though I am a huge loner when I am in one of my funks, no one ever leaves my side.

 

Depression is definitely a real thing to talk about. It’s a real thing to deal with in general because the person who is going through it just feels like they are in quicksand and there is no way out. But, from experience, there are ways out. There are so many other options and hobbies to dive into that you end up experiencing life. My biggest depression fixer is my little guy. It must have been fate that brought him and I together but every day I come home to his face and I know that I’m always perfect in his little eyes.

One thought on “Depression

Leave a Reply

