Dis-Nerd Cali Takeover

HEY EVERYONE!

 

yeah, I know I have been completely M.I.A. but packing, finishing costumes and getting everything settled for Cali was no joke.  I’m back and better than ever!  So now let’s get to the juicy details!

If you really know me, you know I am obsessed with Disney and it’s not a bad thing.  I used to be completely shy about it, hide it, and I used to believe it was only for kids.  Well, not anymore.  I’m pretty open about my Disney nerd-ness and I don’t really care the opinions of others anyway but it did take me a lot of steps to actually be upfront with this.

California is totally different then New York.  It’s a slow steady, yet speed racer kind of place.  I did not really like California as a state but that’s my opinion on it.  I like fast beat, uplifting places *coughFLORIDAcough*  but it all just stands on how you do it and how you take that state on.  I don’t even like New York all that much but once again, solely my opinion.fe9c276a-0789-47fc-84cd-9f82af98bd93

Now, DISNEYLAND.  Yes, I was entirely happy to experience another Disney Park.  But we finished both the parks within the morning portion of the day.  So let’s just say, it’s pretty easy to get through the parks if you manage time wisely.  We woke up at 6 am each day, to get to the parks by rope drop and get our fast passes and head on to smaller rides while waiting.  The one thing I adored about Disneyland was that they still have paper fast passes.  In Disneyworld, they have magic bands which leaves you no choice BUT to book fast passes 160 days in advance. *facepalm*  I adored meeting new characters that I have not met and also meeting my “father.”  I am a huge Star Wars nerd so as soon as I saw Darth Vader I fan-girled.

0d4495fe-1200-4e44-a61c-560a12f7f91f
“But I’m the child that actually EMBRACES the dark side”

 

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Disney’s California Adventure – Paradise Pier!

Disney’s California Adventure was an amazing park!  I got to ride the new Guardians of The Galaxy – Mission: BREAKOUT and I was not disappointed.  When I first heard of Disneyland changing over Tower of Terror to GotG, I have to admit I was a little shocked on how they would take out one of their best rides.  But I stand corrected when Disney went even further with a good ride and made it an amazing ride.  My friend Halie, then got us a dinner package which included World of Color tickets to be right up front.  Watching World of Color, I started crying like a baby.  Just being surrounded by Disney fans, hearing everyone oh and ah, hearing fans singing along to the best Disney tunes, really makes you wonder why can’t life always be like this?

img_2864
End of World of Color
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Princess Kida (Atlantis)

 

D23 is the biggest Disney fan conventions.  Hosted in California every other year, this is definitely a convention to do at least once.  We went in with the expectation of just walking around and seeing cosplayers because this girl is NOT camping outside of a convention center from 3 a.m. just to see a panel which I’ll see online ANYWAY. Day one I was Padme Amidala from the Star Wars prequels, Day two I was Princess Kida from Atlantis and day three I was just my regular self.  It took me months to put together these costumes and it took me about a week or so to sow together my entire Kida costume.  Big props to full time cosplayers because I was exhausted but I loved every minute of it!  I got to be close to Stan Lee, Mark Hamil, and my previous boss, Mr. Mickey Mouse blew me a kiss walking down the convention!  I was able to meet the voice of young Bambi and get his autograph, I was able to meet Tinkerbell. I got a Pixar Luxo Ball (which is extremely rare), I got to be in the same building as Oprah… (yeah, I know this is a long shot but c’mon SAME BLDG!), I was able to meet new people, buy a ton of new pin grails that I have and just experience being surrounded by people who love Disney as much as I do!  I was semi-bummed that I wasn’t able to be in some of the panels in which they announced Kingdom Hearts new world addition, the Marvel panel, or the Lion King panel but all in all, I could honestly do it again in a couple years on a Friday only. (because those lines O_O)

Thanks for reading

  • N.Rarity

“Disneyland is dedicated to the ideals, the dreams, and the hard facts that have created America, with the hope that it will be a source of joy and inspiration to all the world” — Walt Disney

2 thoughts on “Dis-Nerd Cali Takeover

Leave a Reply

