November 2016

Okay, okay, I know I’m a day late with this post… my apologies *shrugs* let’s continue on with the story shall we?

*Warning: Semi-Graphic image in this post, post-operation*

November 2016.

You’re probably wondering in your head… hmm seems pretty recent and the truth is, it was way too recent for my liking. As I said, every 1.5 years I go into the hospital and this is the 1.5 year from 2014.  I went to Florida in October with my parents as a little family vacation/friend-cation.  I got to see a lot of my closest friends and I was happy because in Florida, I am the happiest.  I barely slept and spent all my time with my friends taking advantage of every second there was.  So my last night in Florida, I stood out until about 3-4 a.m. knowing that my flight was at 12 pm and I had to be at the airport by at least 10 a.m.  With my condition, I need sleep, I need my body to rest and when it doesn’t then I go into a flare-up.  So I get back home, a little tired and drained but I relax the remainder of that day that I get home so I think I’m fine.  The next day I wake up to realize I feel horrible, and I mean flu-type horrible.  So for the next week or two I just let it sit there because I cannot take any OTC medication (which sucks because I have constant pain and migraines… HEEEELP.)  But for some reason, I ended up going to the doctor because after a while the flu began to turn into pain of some sort in my stomach so automatically that got me at attention to go get checked.  I went through blood-tests, sonograms and cat-scans to check my entire liver area and something seemed off to my primary doctor.  I ended up calling my liver doctor and the only thing I remember him saying to me was to head to the hospital immediately and get admitted.  Once again, that is probably the worst thing someone can tell you.  The good thing is I was processed within 4 hours in the Emergency Room to be admitted and I had a bed waiting for me.

The first day, I had doctors come visit me and asked me to explain what happened and how I was feeling. I went through a sonogram at the hospital to begin taking steps on what to do next.  The next two days, I found out from the doctor that one, the blood clots had closed up AGAIN and two, I was going in for a surgery called TIPS re-visitation.  What this means is that they were going back into my liver and redoing the entire surgery of opening the blood clots again.  Once I heard that they were doing the entire surgery over again, I began to panic.  I could remember the pain I went through the first time and just going through that again was not going to be at all pleasant.

I went into my surgery anxiety ridden. I was lucky enough to have the same man who did my surgery the first time with no complications be there to re-do this surgery.  I laid on the surgery table, crying, while they began to put heart monitors on me and set up the room.  One of the surgeons calmed me down by making me laugh, which I appreciated so much.  I wasn’t going to be fully under anesthesia but I was going to have enough pain medication to knock me out and the good thing about sleeping in the hospital is that even when you’re tired you cannot sleep because people have to always come and check your vitals or you’ll be woken up at 5 a.m. to have your blood taken out. I went under until about the end and slightly woke up.  I felt the pain of them inside my liver and them pushing down on my neck to get the tubes out and also continue the surgery.  I still was heavily medicated so I couldn’t move but I made sure to make as much noise as possible so they knew I was awake.  I remember that pain oh too well now and never do I want to go through it again.

IMG_1493
Post-Operation

 

The next couple of days were hard. I was throwing up everything I tried to eat and I was weak.  I didn’t want to get out of bed but with my condition, I have to due to blood clots in my legs.  I needed help walking around and also taking showers. (Thanks Mom) I was released the same day that I held any food down and was put on bed rest for a week.

 

IMG_1492
Falling asleep texting and waiting for my parents!

 

So now, here I am.

June 2017

On more medication then what I started with, having constant flare-ups and body aches, and just trying to get through the days without losing any spoons lol.

 

Thanks for reading.

N.Rarity

Leave a Reply

